It is a lowland fortified castle, dating from the 14th and 15th centuries, which was remodelled between 1866 and 1878 by the architect Maurice Ouradou, Viollet-le-Duc’s son-in-law. It thus lost its defensive and austere character to become a romantic Neo-Renaissance complex with Neo-Gothic features. The large defensive walls were replaced by the magnificent main courtyard, opening out onto the picturesque park designed by the Lyon-based architect Luizet. The vast moats, which also encircle the outbuildings, form spectacular pools of water. They are fed in particular by the gargoyles on the roof of the west façade, modelled on those of Notre-Dame Cathedral in Paris. The stables have retained several original features and display horse-drawn carriages, prams and the tack room with its accessories. The English-style park comprises groves of tall trees, some of which are over two hundred years old, boxwood clumps and natural meadows criss-crossed by paths, allowing visitors to discover a variety of landscapes. One of the oak trees has been designated a ‘remarkable tree’.
The château’s exterior, the main courtyard, the stables and tack room, the park and the gardens are open to visitors.
For groups: visits by appointment all year round.
Opening times
Open daily from 1 to 31 August 2026 and from 12 to 20 September 2026, from 1 pm to 7 pm.
Group visits by appointment all year round.
Rankings and labels :
- Adhérents
- Classé ou inscrit (CNMHS)
Services
- Animaux non acceptés
- Groupes acceptés (min. : 8 pers. - max. : 15 pers.)
- Visite payante
- Visites libres sur rendez-vous
- Visites guidées sur rendez-vous
- Visites libres en permanence
- Visites guidées en permanence
Prices
- Base rate - full rate adult8 € *
Payment methods :
- Cash
Château de Saint-Germain-lès-Buxy
3 rue de l'église
71390 Saint-Germain-les-Buxy
