Château de Saint-Germain-lès-Buxy

71390 Saint-Germain-les-Buxy • Fortified castle

  • Crédits photo : collection fleurieu Crédits photo : collection fleurieu
  • Crédits photo : Collection fleurieu Crédits photo : Collection fleurieu
  • Crédits photo : Collection fleurieu Crédits photo : Collection fleurieu
  • Crédits photo : Collection fleurieu Crédits photo : Collection fleurieu
  • Crédits photo : collection fleurieu
  • Crédits photo : Collection fleurieu
  • Crédits photo : Collection fleurieu
  • Crédits photo : Collection fleurieu

It is a lowland fortress dating back to the 15th century, and was remodelled between 1873 and 1878 by the architect Maurice Ouradou, Viollet-le-Duc's son-in-law. It lost its defensive and austere character to become a romantic neo-Renaissance ensemble with neo-Gothic accents. The great defensive walls were replaced by the admirable main courtyard, opening onto the picturesque park designed by Luizet from Lyon. Six bridges span the immense moat, which also encloses the outbuildings, including the stables. These stables have retained several features, including horse-drawn carriages, children's carriages and the saddlery with its accessories. The park features large trees, some more than two hundred years old, and clumps of boxwood. One of the oak trees has been designated a remarkable tree.

The outside of the château, the main courtyard, the collection of garden tools, the stables and the saddlery are open to visitors.

For groups: visits by appointment all year round.

Rankings and labels :

  • Adhérents

Services

  • Location de salle
  • Animaux non acceptés
  • Groupes acceptés

Prices

  • Base rate - full rate adult10 € *
* +16 years

Payment methods :

  • Cash

Activities

  • Conferences

Château de Saint-Germain-lès-Buxy
3 rue de l'église
71390 Saint-Germain-les-Buxy

  • Adhérents
  • Français
  • Anglais